Top 13 Sage Mode Users in Naruto/Boruto Series

Sage Mode or Sage Art allows users to blend natural energy with the user’s chakra. It’s also known as Senjutsu Chakra. Using Sage Mode, one can gain additional physical strength and chakra over their own existing chakra and strength. Basically Sage Mode adds an extra power boost in someone’s body. It also helps to sense chakra from a certain distance without being a sensory type ninja. This technique is taught in two places: Mount Myoboku by the toads and at RyĆ«chi Cave by the snakes.

Throughout Naruto and Boruto anime, there are only a few shinobi who have unlocked Sage Mode. They will be ranked on the basis of their full strength in Sage Mode.

Please note that this list can be changed in future if any new character comes in future.


Gamakichi is a summoning animal. He is a toad from Mount Myoboku. He is the son of Gamabunta who is the summoning animal of Jiraiya. Naruto summoned in most of the fights we saw. People also witnessed his exponential growth in size. Some Naruto fans may ask when Gamakichi used sage mode. Well Gamakichi used his sage art against Obito who had become ten tails Jinchuriki at that time. Other than this Gamakichi uses his sword as a weapon. After the fourth great ninja war, we never saw Gamakichi again. As he was young at that time. He might gain more strength than his predecessors.


Fukasaku is a toad in Mount Myoboku. He is the one who taught Naruto and Jiraiya Sage art. Fukasaku also fought with six paths of Pain and is still alive. Probably he is the next heir of Mount Myoboku. Despite being a summoning animal, Fukasaku is very strong. Later he also fought Pain alongside with her mother.



Gamamaru is the current head of Mount Myoboku. He is also known as “the Great Toad Sage”. In fact he is the one who taught Hagoromo Otsutsuki how to use Sage Mode. Not only that he is still alive after thousands of years. Gamamaru can see the future in his dream. But there is no guarantee that it will come true. It’s more like seeing a possibility. We hadn’t seen him in many actions but we saw a glimpse of his power in the filler episodes.


Image source : Studio Pierrot

Jugo is a Kekkei Genkai. He can absorb and distribute nature energy to other people. Whenever he absorbs nature energy, his mind becomes unstable. Orochimaru invented the cursed mark from Jugo’s abilities. Jugo’s strength amplifies when he is in cursed mark mode. We saw his fight against the Raikage. He was also able to distribute his sage art to Sasuke’s Susanoo during the battle against Juubito. We also witnessed his berserk form in Boruto series.


Mitsuki is the son of Orochimaru. He can also use Sage Mode, thanks to Orochimaru his research on Jugo. He can enter in sage mode instantly however he can’t hold this form for long. It’s because his body is too weak to handle the senjutsu chakra for long. We saw his strength against Shino, Kuu (particle style user) and Deepa. Even Urashiki Otsutsuki praised him for his powers. Orochimaru also stated that Mitsuki has the ability to surpass the legendary sannins.


Jiraiya is the first sage mode user, we see in naruto series. That’s why he is also known as “the Toad Sage”. Jiraiya couldn’t not fully master sage art. That’s the reason, his face looks like a toad whenever he is in sage mode. He never liked to rely on sage mode because his looks change and it makes a bad impression among women. To enter in sage mode, Jiraiya used to take the help of Fukasaku and Shima to absorb nature energy for him. Let’s not forget, he is one of the legendary sannins. He has a large chakra reserve and senjutsu chakra as well. He also defeated 3 pain bodies alone.

Kabuto Yakushi

Kabuto Yakushi with sage mode

Next up we have Kabuto Yakushi. He not only have sage mode but he also has all four Kekkei Genkai. He also has Jugo’s Kekkei Genkai to constantly gather natural energy. Kabuto can even heal himself and melt down his body like Suigetsu. He also has other power enhancements, thanks to Orochimaru’s research. We saw his power against Itachi and Sasuke during the fourth great ninja war.

Kashin Koji

Kashin Koji

Kashin Koji is a member of Kara organization and the replication of Jiraiya. He can use all jiraiya’s abilities. Unlike Jiraiya, he also can instantly enter in perfect Sage mode with Fukasaku and Shima. We saw his strength against Jogen and Ishiki Otsutsuki. That’s the reason he is in this rank.

Minato Namikaze

Minato Namikaze is the father of Naruto and the fourth Hokage of Konoha village. He uses the Flying Raijin technique. We never saw him using Sage art when he was alive. But imagine he is using sage art with his flying Raijin. It would be a total disaster for the opponent. Maybe he never used sage mode because his base form is enough to defeat the enemy.

Hashirama Senju

Hashirama Senju is the reincarnation of Ashura Otsutsuki. He is also the co-founder and first hokage of Konoha village. Hashirama has a large chakra reserve and he can instantly tap into Sage mode. However the story didn’t cover how did he get sage mode? Hashiramal can hold the Sage mode for a longer period. He went toe to toe against Madara Uchiha with his sage mode and defeated him every time. It wouldn’t be possible if he didn’t have sage art.

Ashura Otsutsuki

Asura Otsutsuki

Ashura Otsutsuki is the younger son of Hagoromo Otsutsuki. After Hagoromo, Ashura inherited his father’s power. Here he also got to know sage Jutsu. You can learn how Ashura got Sage jutsu on Fandom. However it’s still hypothetical whether he had sage art or not. It is because he appeared in filler episodes of Naruto. Just like Hashirama, he gets red markings around his eyes and in forehead. he can also enter in sage mode instantly and can hold this for a longer period of time.

Naruto Uzumaki

Naruto learns sage art in Mount Myoboku. Unlike his master Jiraiya, Naruto can use perfect sage mode but at first he needed to gather natural energy manually. Still it was not enough to defeat. He had to rely on Kyuubi chakra. Later in the fourth great ninja war, Naruto can enter Sage Mode instantly after getting kyuubi chakra and other tailed beasts chakra. Now he has access to the power of the six paths. After the fourth great ninja war, Naruto has become the strongest shinobi of his era.

Hagoromo Otsutsuki

Hagoromo Otsutsuki

Hagoromo Otsutsuki aka the Sage of the Six Paths was the first person to learn senjutsu. He used his sage art to wake up his brother and defeat his mother, Kaguya Otsutsuki. Hagoromo already had all tailed beasts’ chakra, Rinnegan and a big Susanoo. He was the one who created the shinobi world or ninshu creed.

Final Words

These are all senjutsu users. All of them are powerful. Although senjutsu enhances one’s power, still not all shinobi are good people. All ranks are based on their true strength when they are in sage mode. This list may fluctuate or change if there are any character becomes strong or weak. This list is totally based on the anime version. It has no connection to the manga. Still If You find some rankings irrelevant, let me know what you think in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Best Anime To Watch in Winter 2024

Adblock Detected

Please avoid using ad blockers. Ads are the only way we earn.